Friday, November 19, 2010

(SOME) People are Awesome.

Hello blog world, this is Tommy. 

So Mallory has been encouraging (read harassing... just kidding!) me to write a post on our blog for all of our loyal followers to read.  I guess it's so that people will realize that I am not a creative writer...I don't know.  I usually feel like she has a much better way of communicating all our antics to you all than I do.  Anyway, enough about that.  Just know that this is my first post so it may or may not be that entertaining...

For those of you that don't know, I work at Shands at the University of Florida.  It is the academic medical center (or teaching hospital for those non-healthcare people out there) on the University of Florida's campus.  I am an administrative resident, which basically means I'm management in training.  My typical day is staring at my computer (usually at Excel), attending meetings, and trying to figure out what I will be doing at the end of this residency.  It ends June 2011, which is coming way faster than I expected that it would. 

One of the jobs that we just finished was recruitment for next year's residents.  It was an interesting/frustrating process.  We had to go through 60+ applications, narrow those down to 7 phone interviews, conduct preliminary interviews for 14 people, and come up with 6 people out of all that to bring to Shands for on-site interviews.  Needless to say, it dominated our day for several weeks.  I say "our" because there are two of me (administrative residents) at Shands.  The other version of me is named Jon.  We share an office and people basically treat us like the same person. 

We finally narrowed the group down to the people that we wanted to bring on-site and set up all the interviews, planned the few days that the candidates would be here, and prepared mentally for the event.  I got to drive a sweet 2011 minivan to chauffeur the candidates around in.  After that experience Mallory and I will NEVER have a minivan.  I don't know how people drive those things.  Anyway, back to my story.  So the candidates came and the interviewers selected their two favorites.  We made the offers and one accepted almost immediately.  The other ended up turning us down for another place.  That was fine, we had others to offer the job to.  So we made another offer and that person accepted.  All is great.  Jon and I then had to make the awkward "you didn't get the job.  sorry..." phone calls to the other candidates.  All of them took it extremely well.

Well today I get a call from the first candidate we made the offer to.  He has decided, for "personal reasons", not to take the job after all.  Great.  What the heck are we going to do now?  So I am sitting here feeling like people generally suck (excuse my "French".  Why do people say that??) when Jon tells me about an youtube video he saw.  It is entitled "PEOPLE ARE AWESOME".  It has restored my belief that people are awesome, but not all people (the guy that just called is one of the not awesome people).  Hence the title of this post:  (SOME) People are Awesome.  I leave you with the video that Jon told me about and hope that it will restore your belief that some people are awesome.  Not all though... Enjoy.

No comments:

Post a Comment