One year?!
We've been married a whole YEAR?!
Remember when you were in like 7th grade, and you thought- holy cow. this year will. never. end. shoot me.
Our first year was the exact opposite.
We actually got to look back through the whole thing, because one of my gifts to Tommy was a scrapbook of our entire first year (I know it's a terrible gift for a guy, but it was for future blah blah blah). We enjoyed awesome honeymoon pics, laughed at my appendicitis, remembered the snow at Christmas, talked about our wonderful church family..... I don't know who says the first year is the hardest.
So, where were we going to celebrate?? Universal Studios to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!!! I was so excited. Thrilled. Jumping up and down. And it was Tommy's idea! He loves me :)
Friday after work, we drove down to Orlando. Our first night together, we stayed at a Westin in Huntsville before we went on our honeymoon. So, Tommy decided we should again stay at a Westin in Orlando, one year later!
The next day, we were at the gates when they opened, and went straight to the Harry Potter section of the park. Into Hogsmeade we stepped, sweating profusely in the Florida heat, but completely surrounded by snow-topped roofs. We passed a snowwizard (one word?) and a frozen stream, and got into line to wait for an hour and forty-five minutes for the best ride of the day. They did supply some fans and misting for the outdoor line, but most of the line wasn't anywhere near them. The line wound around the sides and back of the building, like they aren't expecting the huge crowds to last forever (sad). And most people did like us- get the new ride done first (that afternoon we walked by again. almost no line! UGH). But after we had passed the fans and mist twice, and waited in the even hotter greenhouses (yeah... they're in the books and movies... but did we really need to walk through one??) and INTO the dark and cool castle.
And let me just tell you, Tommy thought the ride would not be that great. And it WAS. Fun AND thrilling! I will not give away the secrets of the ride. If I did, you would try to imagine it and you would be wrong.
So, after the ride, we explored a little more around Harry's world. We tried the ice cold butterbeer (they're hot in the stories, but everyone would die if they tried that) and enjoyed the candy store and the post office. We thought about buying a wand so I too could be magical, but they were a little too expensive for... well... sticks.
We then explored the rest of Universal. We got to go on a Spiderman ride (pretty fun for a older 3D adventure) and toured the caverns of Poseidon (dumb.) and strolled through Dr. Seuss world (saw the Lorax!). We even got a caricature done while we waited to meet up with one of Tommy's friends from school. I think I will make that the top picture on here :)
After we had completely exhausted ourselves and had seen every part of the theme park, we went back to the hotel to clean up for a fancy date night. Tommy did the good guy thing and made reservations at a nice seafood place. I remember it wasn't too fancy/stuffy... but I don't remember what I ate for dinner because the best part was the dessert!! Warm chocolate-chip cookies and milk!!! At a fancy restaurant!! So much for acting like a mature grown-up.
Before getting to Orlando, we found out that Tommy needed to be in Vero to sign some contracts, so instead of driving back and forth for no reason, we decided to stay another night and just hang out on Sunday. We actually ended up going to Ripley's Believe It Or Not. It turned out to be pretty fascinating! We saw crazy pictures and learned that people get really bored- who builds a lifesize model of a car out of toothpicks??
Monday, we ended our anniversary weekend by driving.... to where.... the next chapter of our lives... would be... (you know what I mean.)
No comments:
Post a Comment